Six Feet Over It (Hardcover)

Six Feet Over It Cover Image
Email or call for price.
Special Order - Check for Availability

Fourteen-year old Leigh has had quite enough of death. Her older sister, in cancer remission, is focused on living life to the fullest, but Leigh feels like death is constantly lurking around the corner. Reeling from the recent loss of her best friend, the last place she wants to spend her days is a graveyard, but that's exactly where she ends up. After her father makes the ridiculous decision to purchase a graveyard, he proceeds to move the whole family from the ocean to their new home - in the graveyard. Leigh is stuck selling graves, where customers are either pre-need or at need, both pretty depressing. The only person who makes things bearable is Dario, the illegal, slightly older gravedigger who challenges Leigh to rejoin the land of the living.

Wow. The story hidden beneath this cover will knock your socks off. I was completely unprepared for how deep and emotionally powerful this novel would be. The cover and title, though fitting, seem to convey a lighter tone and, while Six Feet Over It is filled with dark humor and snarky banter, it isn't fluffy. There are lots of big, often difficult, questions addressed in this novel. Questions about death, about how we react to death, how we honor those we've lost, how we move on... These questions are hard to anyone to answer, but we all, at some point in our lives, will find ourselves considering them. Leigh, having nearly lost her sister and having actually lost her best friend, is consumed by her need to find meaning in death - to understand how she is supposed to keep living each day like death isn't waiting to descend.

— From Sara's Top Ten YA Books of 2014

Description


This unforgettable new voice in contemporary YA is perfect for fans of John Green, Libba Bray, and Jennifer Niven.

-Like nothing you've read before.- --Bustle.com

-Darkly funny and deeply moving. An original, memorable voice.- --Jennifer L. Holm, New York Times bestselling author

-A wildly funny coming-of-age story about life, love, death, and everything in between.- --Sarah McCarry, author of All Our Pretty Songs

-Terrific. Longo had me at 'graveyard' and then dug me in deeper with wit, dark humor, and splendid characters.- --Lisa Brown, New York Times bestselling author

No one is more surprised than Leigh when her father buys a graveyard. Less shocking is the fact that he's too lazy to look farther than the dinner table for employees. Working the literal graveyard shift, she becomes great at predicting headstone choice (mostly granite) and taking notes with one hand while offering Kleenex with the other.
Sarcastic and smart, Leigh should be able to quit this stupid after-school job. But her world's been turned upside down by the sudden loss of her best friend and the appearance of Dario, the slightly-too-old-for-her gravedigger. Can Leigh move on, if moving on means it's time to get a life?
Darkly humorous and heart-wrenchingly beautiful, Jennifer Longo's YA debut about a girl surrounded by death will change the way you look at friendship, love, and life.
More Praise for Six Feet Over It

A VOYA Perfect Tens 2014 Pick

An Indies Introduce New Voices Pick

-Equal parts poignant and humorous. . . . Superb.- --Kirkus Reviews, Starred

-A vibrant voice. . . . Readers will rejoice.- --The Bulletin, Starred

-A unique book for unique teens.- --Booklist

-A strong heroine, multicultural cast, and eclectic contemporary setting make Longo's story stand out.- --Publishers Weekly

-Stands out for its unusual setting and also the sarcasm and caustic humor of its protagonist.- --The Horn Book Review

-Hilarious, clever, and poignant.- --SLJ

About the Author


JENNIFER LONGO holds an M.F.A. in Writing for Theater from Humboldt State University. She credits her lifelong flair for drama to parents who did things like buy the town graveyard and put their kids to work in it-because how hilarious would that be? Turns out, pretty hilarious. Jennifer lives in Seattle, Washington with her husband and daughter and writes about writing at taotejen.com.

Praise For…


Praise for Six Feet Over It:
Darkly funny and deeply moving. An original, memorable voice.”
—Jennifer L. Holm, New York Times bestselling author
 
Terrific. Longo had me at ‘graveyard’ and then dug me in deeper with wit, dark humor, and a splendid collection of characters.”
—Lisa Brown, New York Times bestselling author
 
“A bighearted, wildly funny, and deeply poignant coming-of-age story about life, love, death, and everything in between.”
—Sarah McCarry, author of All Our Pretty Songs

Product Details
ISBN: 9780449818718
ISBN-10: 0449818713
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: August 26th, 2014
Pages: 341
Language: English