2017 Caldecott Medal: Winner & Honorees

Caldecott Medal: a gold circle with a racehorse and birds

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott.  It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.  Below are the 2017 Caldecott winners and honorees. 


2017 Caldecott Winner

Book cover: Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat by Javaka Steptoe

Radiant Child by Javaka Steptoe


2017 Honorees

Book cover: Freedom in Congo Square by Carole Boston Weatherford, illustrated by R. Gregory Christie Book cover: They All Saw a Cat by Brendan Wenzel

Book cover: Leave Me Alone! by Vera Brosgol, illustrated by Vera Brosgol Book cover: Du Iz Tak? by Carson Ellis

Freedom in Congo Square by Carole Boston Weatherford, illustrated by R. Gregory Christie

They All Saw a Cat by Brendan Wenzel

Leave Me Alone! by Vera Brosgol

Du Iz Tak? by Carson Ellis


<< Caldecott Medal homepage