2017 Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal: A bright golden circle with the text "John Newbery Medal" across the top.  In the middle is an open book with the text "For the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children".

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.  Learn more at the ALA website.


2017 Newbery Winner

Book cover: The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill

The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill


2017 Honorees

Book cover: Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk Book cover: Freedom Over Me: Eleven slaves, their lives and dreams brought to life by Ashley Bryan Book cover: The Inquisitor's Tale: Or, The Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog by Adam Gidwitz, illustrated by Hatem Aly

Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk

Freedom Over Me by Ashley Bryan

The Inquisitor's Tale by Hatem Aly


<< Newbery Medal homepage