2021 Caldecott Medal: Winner and Honorees

Caldecott Medal: a gold circle with a racehorse and birds

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott.  It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.  Below are the 2021 Caldecott winners and honorees. 


2021 Caldecott Winner

Book cover: We Are Water Protectors by Carole Lindstrom, illustrated by Michaela Goade

We Are Water Protectors by Carole Lindstrom, illustrated by Michaela Goade


2021 Honorees

Book cover: The Cat Man of Aleppo Karim Shamsi-Basha and Irene Latham, illustrated by Yuko Shimizu Book cover: A Place Inside of Me: A Poem to Heal the Heart by Zetta Elliott, illustrated by Noa Denmon

Book cover: Outside In by Deborah Underwood, illustrated by Cindy Derby Book cover: Me & Mama by Cozbi A. Cabrera, illustrated by Cozbi A. Cabrera

 The Cat Man of Aleppo by Irene Latham and Karim Shamsi-Baha, illustrated by Yuko Shimizu

A Place Inside of Me by Zetta Elliot, illustrated by Noa Denmon

Outside In by Deobrah Underwood, illustrated by Cindy Derby

Me & Mama, by Cozbi Cabrera, illustrated by Cozbi Cabrera


<< Caldecott Medal homepage