The 2022 Audie Award Winners

Founded in 1995, the Audie Awards represent the premier awards program in the United States, recognizing distinction in audiobooks and spoken word entertainment.  Finalists are selected in 24 different categories ranging from children's titles to memoir, including categories for best male and female audio performer.  Winners are announced in March at the annual Audie Awards Gala.

Did you know you can enjoy digital audiobooks while supporting your favorite indie bookstore?  Check out Brilliant Books Audio for your next great audiobook, including many of the finalists listed below!


Audiobook of the Year


Project Hail Mary (Audible Exclusive) by Andy Weir, narrated by Ray Porter

Get the book



A Promised Land by Barack Obama The Sweetness of Water by Nathan Harris The Storyteller by Dave Grohl



Best Fiction


The Final Revival of Opal & Nev by Dawnie Walton


The Lincoln Highway by Amor Towles All the Lonely People by Mike Gayle The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah The Nature of Fragile Things by Susan Meissner



Best Non-Fiction


The Joy of Sweat by Sarah Everts


Freedom by Sebastian Junger Last Call by Elon Green The Menopause Manifesto by Dr. Jen Gunter This Is Your Mind on Plants by Michael Pollan


Also nominated:

The Premonition: A Pandemic Story by Michael Lewis, narrated by Adenrele Ojo



Best Young Adult


Be Dazzled by Ryan La Sala


The Project by Courtney Summers A Sitting in St. James by Rita Williams-Garcia Firekeeper's Daughter by Angeline Boulley The Prison Healer by Lynette Noni



Best Female Narrator


Deepti Gupta for The Parted Earth by Anjali Enjeti

The Parted Earth by Anjali Enjeti



Julia Whelan for The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah

The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah 


Also nominated:

Hillary Huber for Before She Disappeared by Lisa Gardner

Natalie Naudus for The Morning After by Lisa Jackson

Cynthia Erivo for Wild Swan by Patti Callahan



Best Male Narrator


Lin-Manuel Miranda for Aristotle and Dante Dive into the Waters of the World by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Aristotle and Dante Dive into the Waters of the World by Benjamin Alire Sáenz



Edoardo Ballerini for Legends of the North Cascades by Jonathan Evison

Robert Bathurst for The Madness of Crowds by Louise Penny

William DeMeritt for The Sweetness of Water by Nathan Harris

Legends of the North Cascades by Jonathan Evison The Madness of Crowds by Louise Penny The Sweetness of Water by Nathan Harris


Also nominated:

John Lithgow for The Didomenico Fragment by Amor Towles



Best Multi-Voiced Performance


Barrie Kreinik, Bailey Carr, Ella Turenne, Nikki Massoud, Natalie Naudus, Imani Jade Powers, & James Fouhey for Heresy by Melissa Lenhardt

Heresy by Melissa Lenhardt



The Anatomy of Desire by L. R. Dorn Bourdain by Laurie Woolever Four Hundred Souls, edited by Ibram X. Kendi and Keisha N. Blain Twins by Varian Johnson



Want more of the year's best audiobooks?  Find the whole list at the Audiopub website:

See More Audie Award Finalists

Back to the Top                 Audies Homepage