2022 Dagger Longlists

CWA Logo

Organized by the UK's Crime Writers Association, the Dagger Awards recognize excellence in crime writing.  Entries are predominantly submitted by publishers and judged by industry professionals.  To learn more, visit the CWA website.

The 2022 shortlists are coming soon, so check out these selections from the 2022 longlist below—and stay tuned for the shortlist and winners!


Ian Fleming Steel Dagger

Ian Fleming said there was one essential criterion for a good thriller, ‘one simply has to turn the pages’.  Eligible books in this category are thrillers set in any period and include, but are not limited to, spy fiction, psychological thrillers and action/adventure stories.

Avaiable longlisted titles:

A Man Named Doll Find You First Exit The Pact Sunset Swing Razorblade Tears The Plot Dream Girl Rizzio


John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger

This award is for the best crime novel by a first-time author of any nationality first published in the UK in English during the Judging Period.

Available longlisted titles:

Welcome to Cooper Sixteen Horses Repentance Hunted Raft of Stars The Appeal Falling How to Kidnap the Rich The Source Waking the Tiger


Gold Dagger

The best crime novel by an author of any nationality, originally written in English, first published in the UK during the Judging Period. The broadest definition of the crime novel defines eligible books as including thrillers, police procedurals, mysteries, pyschological and other suspense novels and spy fiction. 

Available longlisted titles:

Next of Kin The Christmas Murder Game Rabbit Hole City of Vengeance Before You Knew My Name  Sunset Swing  Razorblade Tears The Last Thing to Burn The House Uptown The Unwilling A Slow Fire Burning Lightseekers The Shadows of Men The Killing Hills A Beginner's Guide to Murder Brazilian Psycho


Want to see more categories?  See the CWA's full 2022 longlist document

Dagger Awards Homepage >>