2022 National Book Awards Longlists

Established in 1950, the National Book Award is an American literary prize administered by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit organization.  Awards are given for young people's literature, translation, poetry, nonfiction, and fiction.

Explore this year's longlists below.



When We Were Sisters by Fatimah Asghar Shutter by Ramona Emerson If I Survive You by Jonathan Escoffery The Rabbit Hutch by Tess Gunty The Birdcatcher by Gayl Jones The Haunting of Hajji Hotak and Other Stories by Jamil Jan Kochai All This Could Be Different by Sarah Thankam Mathews Nobody Gets Out Alive by Leigh Newman Maria, Maria: & Other Stories Marytza K. Rubio The Town of Babylon by Alejandro Varela 


This year, the fiction judges include authors Ben FountainBrandon HobsonPam Houston, and Dana Johnson.




Bright Unbearable Reality: Essays by Anna Badkhen Ted Kennedy: A Life by John A. Farrell Uncommon Measure: A Journey Through Music, Performance, and the Science of Time by Natalie Hodges Bad Mexicans: Race, Empire, and Revolution in the Borderlands by Kelly Lytle Hernández The Invisible Kingdom: Reimagining Chronic Illness by Meghan O’Rourke South to America: A Journey Below the Mason-Dixon to Understand the Soul of a Nation by Imani Perry Breathless: The Scientific Race to Defeat a Deadly Virus by David Quammen The Man Who Could Move Clouds: A Memoir by Ingrid Rojas Contreras His Name Is George Floyd: One Man’s Life and the Struggle for Racial Justice by Robert Samuels and Toluse Olorunnipa Lost & Found: A Memoir by Kathryn Schulz


Judges for this year's nonfiction award include professor & author Carol Anderson, and science writer Thor Hanson.




Golden Ax by Rio Cortez Look at This Blue by Allison Adelle Hedge Coke  Still Life by Jay Hopler Punks: New & Selected Poems by John Keene Balladz by Sharon Olds Best Barbarian by Roger Reeves Mummy Eaters by Sherry Shenoda Duende: Poems, 1966-Now by Quincy Troupe As She Appears by Shelley Wong The Rupture Tense by Jenny Xie


Judges for the Poetry award include poets Kwame Dawes, Mai Der Vang, and former US Poet Laureate Juan Felipe Herrera.



Translated Literature

Ibn Arabi’s Small Death by Mohammed Hasan Alwan, trans. William M. Hutchins A New Name: Septology VI-VII by Jon Fosse, trans. Damion Searls Seasons of Purgatory by Shahriar Mandanipour, trans. Sara Khalili Kibogo by Scholastique Mukasonga, trans. Mark Polizzotti Jawbone by Mónica Ojeda, trans. Sarah Booker The Employees by Olga Ravn, trans. Martin Aitken Seven Empty Houses by Samanta Schweblin, trans. Megan McDowell Where You Come From by Sasa Stanisic, trans. Damion Searls Scattered All Over the Earth by Yoko Tawada, trans. Margaret Mitsutani The Books of Jacob by Olga Tokarczuk, trans. Jennifer Croft


Judges for the Translated Literature prize include translator Ann Goldstein, who has translated the work of Elena Ferrante and others.



Young People's Literature

The Ogress and the Orphans by Kelly Barnhill The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen by Isaac Blum A Thousand Steps Into Night by Traci Chee Swim Team by Johnnie Christmas Self-Made Boys: A Great Gatsby Remix  by Anna-Marie McLemore The Lesbiana’s Guide to Catholic School by Sonora Reyes Victory. Stand!: Raising My Fist for Justice by Tommie Smith, Derrick Barnes, & Dawud Anyabwile All My Rage by Sabaa Tahir Lotus Bloom and the Afro Revolution by Sherri Winston Maizy Chen’s Last Chance by Lisa Yee


The 2022 judges for the Young People's Literature award include Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, Lilliam Rivera, author of We Light Up the Sky, and Joseph Bruchac, author of Rez Dogs.  Learn more at the National Book Award website.



Back to Top

<< National Book Award homepage