2024 Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal: A bright golden circle with the text "John Newbery Medal" across the top.  In the middle is an open book with the text "For the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children".

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.  Learn more at the ALA website.


<< See All 2024 ALA Youth Media Awards


2024 Newbery Winner

The Eyes and the Impossible by Dave Eggers


2024 Honorees

Eagle Drums by Nasuġraq Rainey Hopson Elf Dog and Owl Head by M. T. Anderson Mexikid by Pedro Martin Simon Sort of Says by Erin Bow The Many Assassinations of Samir, Seller of Dreams by Daniel Nayeri



<< Newbery Medal homepage