2024 Stonewall Book Awards

Stonewall Book award: A silver circle with an inverted black triangle, a pink triangle, and an open book, with the text "Stonewall Book Award" and smaller text reading "American Library Association"

The first and most enduring award for LGBTQIA+ books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Rainbow Round Table (formerly the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table).  Three Stonewall Book Awards are presented to English language works published the year prior to the announcement date.  So far, only the children's award has been announced, but keep an eye out for the other categories!


<< See All 2024 ALA Youth Media Awards


Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award


Children's Winner:

Cross My Heart and Never Lie by Nora Dasnes

Children's Honor Books:

Desert Queen by Jyoti Rajan Gopal Not He or She, I'm Me by A. M.  Wild The Otherwoods by Justine Pucella Winans Stars in Their Eyes by Jessica Walton


Young Adult Recipient:

Only This Beautiful Moment by Abdi Nazemian

Young Adult Honor Books:

Ander & Santi Were Here by Jonny Garza Villa Imogen, Obviously by Becky Albertalli The Long Run by James Acker The Spirit Bares Its Teeth by Andrew Joseph White



Barbara Gittings Literature Award

To Be Announced


Israel Fishman Nonfiction Award

To Be Announced



<< Stonewall Book Award homepage