The 2024 Youth Media Awards

ALA Youth Media Awards

This morning, the American Library Association announced the 2024 Youth Media Awards!  These awards include over 20 different prizes for great kids' and YA books published in the last year.  Today we're covering 5 of the biggest awards—but you can learn more about the awards and winning books on the ALA website.  Ready to dive into some of the best in recent literature for young readers?


Explore the prizes below to find this years winners and honorees:


Caldecott Medal

Caldecott Medal

Honors excellence and artistry in illustration of an American picture book.

Coretta Scott King Book Award

Coretta Scott King Book Award

Recognizes African American authors and illustrators of books for young readers.

Newbery Medal

Newbery Medal

Awarded for the most distinguished controbution to American children's literature.


Stonewall Book Award

Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Award

One of the Stonewall Book Awards, recognizing excellence in kids' LGBT-themed books.

Michael J. Printz Award

Printz Award

Honors the best English language books for teenage readers.


Watch the full awards ceremony at the ALA's website