2015 National Book Award Shortlists

Thursday, October 15, 2015 - Sara Grochowski

The 2015 finalists for the National Book Award have been announced.

All finalists can be browsed here. The 2015 longlists can be found here.

The National Book Award Winners will be announced at a gala dinner and ceremony in New York on November 18th. For more information on the Awards and a list of this year’s judges, visit www.nationalbook.org.

2015 Man Booker Prize Awarded

Wednesday, October 14, 2015 - Sara Grochowski

Marlon James awarded the 2015 Man Booker Prize!

Shelf Awareness reports: Marlon James won the £50,000 (US$76,315) Man Booker Prize for Fiction for A Brief History of Seven Killings, which was described by chair of judges Michael Wood as "an extraordinary book" that "we didn't actually have any difficulty deciding on--it was a unanimous decision, a little bit to our surprise." James, who currently lives in Minneapolis, Minn., is the first Jamaican-born writer to win the Booker.

To see a full list of books considered for this year's prize, see the Longlist here and the Shortlist here.

The 10th Anniversary of Twilight and Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined

Friday, October 9, 2015 - Sara Grochowski

This Tuesday, Hachette and Stephanie Meyer released the 10th anniversary edition of Twilight.

It’s likely that you haven’t heard much about the Twilight books since the release of the final movie adaptation. Meyer hasn’t published anything in years and the Twilight (and vampire!) craze has slowly faded, replaced by dystopian bestsellers and franchises like The Hunger Games and Divergent.

This 10th anniversary edition of the novel wasn’t announced until a month or two before release and very little information about the contents of the edition was released. Bonus content was promised, but just what that bonus content would be was unknown to both booksellers and readers. Many speculated that perhaps Meyer would finally release Midnight Sun, the long-rumored story sharing Twilight from Edward’s point of view. Others suspected it would be another short story in the same vein as The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner. Now, just days after the release of the anniversary edition, social media is abuzz.

The bonus content? A gender-swapped reimagining of Twilight.

Read more about the big reveal, the book, and the buzz here!

Kirkus Prize Finalists Announced

Thursday, October 8, 2015 - Sara Grochowski

The Kirkus Prize is one of the richest literary awards in the world, with a prize of $50,000 bestowed annually to authors of fiction, nonfiction and young readers’ literature. It was created to celebrate the 81 years of discerning, thoughtful criticism Kirkus Reviews has contributed to both the publishing industry and readers at large.

Books that earned the Kirkus Star with publication dates between November 1, 2014, and October 31, 2015, are automatically nominated for the 2015 Kirkus Prize, and the winners will be selected on October 15, 2015, by an esteemed panel composed of nationally respected writers and highly regarded booksellers, librarians and Kirkus critics. - from Kirkus

A full list of 2015 finalists can be found here.

2015 National Book Award Longlists

Friday, October 2, 2015 - Sara Grochowski

The National Book Award is one of the nation's most prestigious literary prizes and has a stellar record of identifying and rewarding quality writing. In 1950, William Carlos Williams was the first Winner in Poetry, the following year William Faulkner was honored in Fiction, and so on through the years.  Many previous Winners of the National Book Award are now firmly established in the canon of American literature, such as Sherman Alexie, Louise Erdrich, Jonathan Franzen, Denis Johnson, Joyce Carol Oates, and Adrienne Rich.

You can find all of the titles longlisted for the 2015 National Book Award here!

The National Book Award Finalists will be announced on October 14th; Winners will be announced at a gala dinner and ceremony in New York on November 18th. For more information on the Awards and a list of this year’s judges, visit www.nationalbook.org.