2015 National Book Award Longlists

Friday, October 2, 2015 - Sara Grochowski

The National Book Award is one of the nation's most prestigious literary prizes and has a stellar record of identifying and rewarding quality writing. In 1950, William Carlos Williams was the first Winner in Poetry, the following year William Faulkner was honored in Fiction, and so on through the years.  Many previous Winners of the National Book Award are now firmly established in the canon of American literature, such as Sherman Alexie, Louise Erdrich, Jonathan Franzen, Denis Johnson, Joyce Carol Oates, and Adrienne Rich.

You can find all of the titles longlisted for the 2015 National Book Award here!

The National Book Award Finalists will be announced on October 14th; Winners will be announced at a gala dinner and ceremony in New York on November 18th. For more information on the Awards and a list of this year’s judges, visit www.nationalbook.org.

2016 Carnegie Medals for Excellence Longlist

Friday, September 25, 2015 - Sara Grochowski

The 20 fiction and 20 nonfiction titles included on the 2016 Carnegie Medal longlist have officially been announced!

The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction were established in 2012 to recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. the previous year. The winners (one for fiction, one for nonfiction) are announced at an event at the ALA Annual Conference; winning authors receive a $5,000 cash award, and two finalists in each category receive $1,500.

A full list of all 40 titles being considered for the 2016 award can be found here.

Man Booker 2015 Shortlist Announced

The Man Booker shortlist has been announced! A list of the 6 books currently being considered for the prize can be found here.

The winner will be announced October 13th. The longlist, from which the 6 shortlisted books have emerged, can be found here.

The Man Booker Prize promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year. The prize is the world's most important literary award and has the power to transform the fortunes of authors and publishers.


#FerranteFever hits Brilliant Books


The release of the fourth and final book of Elena Ferrante's Neapolitan novels, The Story of the Lost Child, has caused an outbreak of #FerranteFever at Brilliant Books!

With the release of this final installment, now is the perfect time to dive into this compelling quartet.

For a limited time, those who puchase a Neapolitan novel will receive a special Europa tote and a #FerranteFever button!

More information and a complete list of the Neapolitan novels can be found here.