The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence 2024

The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction were established in 2012 to recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. the previous year. The winners (one for fiction, one for nonfiction) are announced at an event at the ALA Annual Conference; winning authors receive a $5,000 cash award, and three finalists in each category receive $1,500.

The winners will be announced in January.

<< Andrew Carnegie Medal homepage

Fiction Shortlist:

Denison AvenueThe Berry PickersJesmyn Ward

Fiction Longlist:

Chain Gang All Stars Fat Time and Other Stories ProphetWitness Straw Dogs of the Universe All the Sinners BleedTwo Sherpas The Lost Journals of Sacajawea The Great ReclamationTali Girls The Water Outlaws The Maniac Pomegranate House Gone Quiet Wandering Souls Let's Go Let's Go Let's GoThe Bandit Queens Dear Chysanthemums: A Novel in Stories 

Nonfiction Shortlist:

We Were Once a FamilyThe TalkThe Great Displacement


Nonfiction Longlist:

 The New Guys He/She/They The Burning of the World Better Living Through Birding Poverty, By America Fever in the HeartlandAirplane Mode Okinawa An Amerikan FamilyThe Country of the Blind American Whitelash A Man of Two FacesThe People's Hospital A Darker Wilderness Brave the Wild RiverThe 272 Our Migrant Souls Wonder DrugProject 562 The Riders Come Out at Night Master Slave Husband Wife