The Girls Are Good (Paperback)

The Girls Are Good By Ilaria Bernardini Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
Brilliant Books
6 on hand, as of Feb 4 9:23am

Description


In the tradition of My Dark Vanessa and The Divines, a bold coming-of-age novel set in the competitive, high stakes and controversial world of elite gymnastics...

Martina wants to be the best gymnast in the world. But so does everyone around her.

During one week of intense competition, Martina and her teammates are tested to the limit. Any sign of weakness can quickly spell the end. And within seven days, an intense obsession will lead to murder.

Every girl will do anything to win... but at what cost?

"Compelling, harrowing, and ultimately devastating - it's quite simply unforgettable." ALEX MICHAELIDES, author of THE SILENT PATIENT

"A tight, frightening story of friendship, rivalry and obsession." ABIGAIL DEAN, Sunday Times bestselling author of GIRL A

"Brutal and brilliant - I read it in one sitting." HARRIET TYCE, author of BLOOD ORANGE

"A glimpse into a wonderfully dangerous, screwed up world. I couldn't put it down." CESCA MAJOR, author of THE OTHER GIRL

About the Author


Ilaria Bernardini was born in Milan and is an author andscriptwriter. Her novel Faremo Foresta was longlisted forItaly's prestigious Strega Prize and she has created TVshows including Ginnaste and Ballerini (MTV) and haswritten for Ciak, Tutto Musica, Linus, Rolling Stone, Amica, Vanity Fair and GQ. The Girls Are Good is basedon her novel Corpo Libero which subsequently morphed into a cult reality show. This story was inspired by Ilaria's exclusive behind-the-scenes exposure to the controversies that have gripped the world of gymnastics over the past decade. The book has already been optioned by Indigo productions along with All 3Media (the company behindFleabag) for an eight-part TV series.


Product Details
ISBN: 9780008581091
ISBN-10: 0008581096
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: January 24th, 2023
Language: English