Solitaire (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Solitaire Cover Image
$17.99
Available to ship immediately

Staff Reviews


Tori Spring has a bad attitude. She knows it and she doesn’t especially care. She’s surrounded by people she doesn’t like and would much rather spend her time solo, blogging or sleeping. Enter Michael Holden, a cheerful transfer student who is annoyingly determined to be Tori’s friend, despite the fact that she is clearly uninterested. Things get marginally more interesting when a group of hackers calling themselves Solitaire begin executing elaborate pranks that shake things up at school. But, as the pranks begin curiously connection to Tori and taking on a dangerous edge, she finds herself reevaluating some things about herself and her relationships with others, especially Michael. This debut from Alice Oseman may have an unbelievable premise, but the characters and feelings are devastatingly real. Many readers will see themselves in Tori and cheer for her happy ending.

— Sara

Description


In Solitaire, Alice Oseman has brought to life a vivid, clever, and heartfelt portrayal of what it's like to be a teenager today. This stunning debut novel—which the Times (London) called "The Catcher in the Rye for the digital age"—is perfect for fans of Melina Marchetta, Stephen Chbosky, and Rainbow Rowell.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year—before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of exams and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people—I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that's all over now.

Now there's Solitaire. And Michael Holden. I don't know what Solitaire is trying to do, and I don't care about Michael Holden. I really don't.

About the Author


Alice Oseman was born in 1994 in Kent, England. She completed a degree in English at Durham University in 2016 and is currently a full-time writer and illustrator. Alice can usually be found staring aimlessly at computer screens, questioning the meaninglessness of existence, or doing anything and everything to avoid getting an office job. Find out more about Alice and her books at www.aliceoseman.com.

Praise For…


“Tori’s wry voice and dark humor provide a counterpoint to her descent into depression. A fascinating debut from an author to watch.”
— School Library Journal

“Oseman’s debut could put her among the great young adult fiction authors. Solitaire is a pleasure to read; Tori’s voice is incredibly relatable.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“Tori’s voice makes this story into a poignant yet blackly funny and even lively emotional journey. A deeply absorbing read.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Oseman proves herself a clever, witty writer.”
— Publishers Weekly

“Honest and authentic… with appeal to fans of John Green.”
— The Bookseller (London)

“In [Oseman’s] punky, depressive, epigrammatic, mordant heroine Tori Spring we have a Holden Caulfield for the internet age.
— The Times (London)

“Intrigue, suspense, and a fairly spectacular climax will appeal to teens asking the big questions.”
— ALA Booklist
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062335685
ISBN-10: 0062335685
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: March 31st, 2015
Pages: 368
Language: English