Frankie and Amelia (Paperback)

Frankie and Amelia By Cammie McGovern Cover Image
$7.99
Ships Today - Not Currently In-Store

Description


A heartfelt companion novel to the critically acclaimed Chester and Gus about inclusivity, autism, friendship, and family, perfect for fans of Sara Pennypacker and Kate DiCamillo.

After being separated from his family, Franklin becomes an independent cat, until he meets a goofy dog named Chester. Chester is a service dog to his person, a boy named Gus, and Chester knows just the girl to be Franklin’s person—Gus’s classmate, Amelia.

Amelia loves cats, but has a harder time with people. Franklin understands her, though, and sees how much they have in common. When Amelia gets into some trouble at school, Franklin wants to help the girl who’s done so much to help him. He’s not sure how, yet, but he’s determined to try.

This sweet and moving novel demonstrates how powerful the bond between pets and people can be, while thoughtfully depicting a neurodivergent tween’s experience.

About the Author


Cammie McGovern is the author of Say What You Will as well as the adult novels Neighborhood Watch, Eye Contact, and The Art of Seeing. Cammie is also one of the founders of Whole Children, a resource center that runs after-school classes and programs for children with special needs. She lives in Amherst, Massachusetts, with her husband and three children.

Praise For…


"A sweetly rendered story of friendship and finding your place. McGovern creates natural conversations between not only Chester and Frankie but also between the animals and their persons, adding wisdom and humor to this gentle narrative. A recommended read for young animal-lovers and those looking for an authentic experience of neurodiversity. A small gem of inclusiveness!" — Booklist Online

"An ingenious perspective on the world of neurodiversity—funny and heartfelt. Frankie’s wisdom and growth are models for the rest of us." — Kathryn Erskine, National Book Award winning author of Mockingbird

"Charming and funny, thoughtful and tender—a heartwarming story about the power of personal connection and a much needed reminder that sometimes we find those connections in the most unlikely places." — Booki Vivat, New York Times bestselling author of the Frazzled series

“Frankie brings a fresh, furry, often humorous, and always honest perspective on family, friendships, and the challenges of overcoming your fears and finding acceptance. A rich blend of humor and heart."
John David Anderson, author of Posted and Ms. Bixby's Last Day

Praise for Chester and Gus: “In this delightful novel, Cammie McGovern has somehow managed to channel, with absolute perfection, the endearing voice of an aspiring service dog named Chester. Joyful, inspiring, and completely winning, Chester and Gus is unforgettable.”
Katherine Applegate, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Newbery Medal winner The One and Only Ivan

“Beautifully imagined and deeply affecting, Cammie McGovern’s sensitive portrait of one resilient family and their very special dog demonstrates that the best lives are lived when differences are cherished.” — Leslie Connor, award-winning author of Waiting for Normal and All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook

“The quintessential book about a boy and his dog—perfectly beautiful.”

Huffington Post

“[Readers] will be charmed by Chester’s warmth and loyalty.” — Publishers Weekly

“Gus’ gradual, subtle interactions with his classmates ring true and sympathetic.” — Kirkus Reviews

“I loved this! It’s a cross between The One and Only Ivan and Out of My Mind. Kids will love it because it’s a dog story and a school story. Teachers and parents will love it because it’s an intimate look at a family with a non-verbal autistic son. It rang so true for me.” — Cathy Berner, Blue Willow Bookshop (Houston, TX)

Praise for Just My Luck: “I loved this portrait of a young boy struggling to find his role in a family determined not to be defined by their differences. Benny’s brave story, told with wry humor, is inspirational.” — Ann M. Martin, New York Times bestselling author of Rain Reign

“In narrator Benny, readers find a resilient and very observant 9-year-old who accepts those around him with their strengths and shortcomings alike. His story is insightful and inspirational.”

Kirkus Reviews

“In her first middle-grade novel, McGovern brings readers fully into Benny’s troubled thoughts, making a clear distinction between the things that he can’t control (his father’s health, his brother’s autism) and the things that he can. McGovern’s thoughtful depiction of a family facing difficult situations without fracturing, coupled with a gentle message about not being too hard on oneself, will surely speak to middle schoolers with their own slate of worries.”

Publishers Weekly

“In her debut novel for middle grade readers, McGovern presents a heart-filled story of a likable boy who doesn’t realize that his natural gifts are recognizable and valued by a supportive family and his teacher Mr. Norris. There are many moments that will ring true to middle grade readers: feeling anxious about friendships, wanting to be noticed, and trying to do the right thing. Recommend this sensitive novel to fans of Lisa Graff’s Absolutely Almost and Rob Buyea’s Because of Mr. Terupt.”

School Library Journal

“McGovern’s observations about ordinary-seeming life and about the people around us, about small acts of kindness and healing and forgiveness, are perceptive and thought-provoking.” — The Horn Book

“Benny’s first-person narrative radiates with exactly the kind of compassion his mother recommends: to ease your own pain, try to help others. Like many nine-year-olds, Benny can be guileless in one moment and wise beyond his years in another, and his fascination with LEGO Minifigures will likely delight many young readers, who might share his hobby. In addition, Benny’s goodhearted family embraces a well-rounded life, supporting each other even when it’s tough. Highly recommended for fans of realistic fiction by writers such as Ann M. Martin or Lisa Graff.” — ALA Booklist

“McGovern writes convincingly about characters trying to figure out how best to live with the complications of a disability, both the person whom it most affects and also those around him or her. She manages to keep Benny’s voice authentic and still draw a rich cast of minor characters. As she does for older teens in Say What You Will and A Step Toward Falling, she offers younger readers a compelling story filled with people they will care about. Benny’s voice deserves to be read aloud in a classroom.” — Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062463333
ISBN-10: 0062463330
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: November 8th, 2022
Pages: 256
Language: English