If These Wings Could Fly (Hardcover)

If These Wings Could Fly Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Brilliant Books Traverse City
1 on hand, as of Mar 28 10:01am

Description


Perfect for fans of Laura Ruby, Laurie Halse Anderson, and Mindy McGinnis, Kyrie McCauley’s stunning YA debut is a powerful story about the haunting specter of domestic violence and the rebellious forces of sisterhood and first love.

Tens of thousands of crows invading Auburn, Pennsylvania, is a problem for everyone in town except seventeen-year-old Leighton Barnes. For Leighton, it’s no stranger than her house, which inexplicably repairs itself every time her father loses his temper and breaks things.

Leighton doesn’t have time for the crows—it’s her senior year, and acceptance to her dream college is finally within reach. But grabbing that lifeline means abandoning her sisters, a choice she’s not ready to face.

With her father’s rage worsening and the town in chaos over the crows, Leighton allows herself a chance at happiness with Liam, her charming classmate, even though falling in love feels like a revolutionary act.

Balancing school, dating, and survival under the shadow of sixty thousand feathered wings starts to feel almost comfortable, but Leighton knows that this fragile equilibrium can only last so long before it shatters.

About the Author


Kyrie McCauley has always been a storyteller. She has also been a waitress, nanny, singer in a band, ACLU intern, rally organizer, Truman Scholar, and most recently, a mother and a writer. She holds a master of science in social policy from the University of Pennsylvania. She lives near Philadelphia with her husband, children, and several ill-mannered but beloved cats. You can visit Kyrie at www.kyriemccauley.com.

Praise For…


“A hauntingly intense tale thrumming with hope! A stunning, powerful debut.”
— Tiffany D. Jackson, award-winning author of Monday's Not Coming

“A deep dive to illustrate the quiet strength of those in the darkest situations, If These Wings Could Fly is atmospheric, brilliantly drawn, and ultimately hopeful.”
— Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species

“Heartbreaking, important, and layered with so much hope, this book breathes magic into every chapter.”
— Akemi Dawn Bowman, Morris Award Finalist and author of Starfish

“McCauley expertly blends the devastation of family with the invincibility of first love and sisterhood. This debut marks the start of a bold new talent!”
— Justin A. Reynolds, author of Opposite of Always

"[A] lyrical novel [with] authentic, intimate first-person narration... Strong writing that features some dreamily lovely turns of phrase... A powerful, thoughtful, and ultimately hopeful debut."
— Kirkus Reviews

"Poignant and powerful, this novel uses magical realism to examine choice in a difficult world. There are titles for teens that address the realities of dating violence, but it’s more difficult to find stories of family violence; in her debut, McCauley traverses the tender ground with grace."
— Booklist

"McCauley offers just a touch of magical realism here, layering a painfully honest exploration of domestic violence with a subtle eeriness... Her narration is elegant and thoughtful... a refreshing portrayal of two teens who negotiate their own challenges while acknowledging those of others."
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“A beautiful, powerful, and emotional story that tugs at your heartstrings as it empathetically and honestly steers you through the pain of domestic violence.”
— Farrah Penn, author of Twelve Steps to Normal

If These Wings Could Fly is a tense and emotional story that will in turns break your heart, make you swoon, and leave you feeling hopeful.”
— Elizabeth Eulberg, author of Past Perfect Life

“A careful, sharp exploration of rage, love, and what it means to balance on the knife edge between them.”
— Rebecca Barrow, author of This Is What It Feels Like

"McCauley makes a moving debut with this hard-hitting novel set in a small, tightly knit town."
— Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062885029
ISBN-10: 0062885022
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: March 3rd, 2020
Pages: 400
Language: English