The Truth Project (Hardcover)

The Truth Project Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Brilliant Books (In Store)
6 on hand, as of Oct 24 9:40am

Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next List


The Truth Project is a deep, moving, conversation-starting story written in verse, emails, and texts about a girl who learns hard truths about her birth, her identity, and her parents. Her family lessons read flawlessly side by side with her young adult dramas with boys, girls, friends, school, poetry, plans, and a gamut of emotions. If finding identity and searching for belonging in any setting is what you’re looking for, read The Truth Project!”
— Drew Durham, Books Inc., San Francisco, CA

Description


A heart-wrenching quest for identity every YA reader will relate to, and a deep dive into the meaning of family." —Ellen Hopkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Debut author Dante Medema explores the emotional fallout after a teenage girl discovers she is the product of an affair. Told through a series of poems, text messages, and emails, this contemporary YA is perfect for fans of Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin.

Seventeen-year-old Cordelia Koenig intended to breeze through her senior project. While her peers stressed, Cordelia planned to use the same trace-your-roots genealogy idea her older sister used years prior. And getting partnered with her longtime crush, Kodiak Jones, is icing on the cake. All she needs to do is mail in her DNA sample, write about her ancestry results, and get that easy A.

But when Cordelia’s GeneQuest results reveal that her father is not the person she thought he was, but a stranger who lives thousands of miles away, her entire world shatters. Now she isn’t sure of anything—not the mother who lied, the man she calls Dad, or the girl staring back at her in the mirror.

If your life began with a lie, how can you ever be sure of what's true?

About the Author


Dante Medema is an author of books for young readers. She lives in Anchorage, Alaska, with her husband, four daughters, and a room full of alien memorabilia—and books, of course. When she's not writing, she dabbles in baking, decorating, painting, sewing, and reading up on Enneagram personality types. To learn more about Dante, visit her at www.dantemedema.com.

Praise For…


The Truth Project is a heart-wrenching quest for identity every YA reader will relate to, and a deep dive into the meaning of family."
— Ellen Hopkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author 

"A luminous and lovely novel-in-verse about family, identity, and finding your truth. Cordelia's heart-wrenching quest will captivate readers."
— Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces and How to Make Friends With the Dark

"The Truth Project explores love, identity, and family in all its beautiful chaos. Wrapped in exquisite, page-turning prose, this book is impossible to put down until the very end."
— Rachael Lippincott, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Five Feet Apart

"Dante Medema beautifully weaves together an emotional and riveting story of self-discovery, family, and finding out the truth that's inside us all. A stunning debut."

— Elizabeth Eulberg, international bestselling author of Past Perfect Life

"With luminous writing and characters who feel like friends, The Truth Project is a book with its own gravitational pull. A lyrical, evocative exploration of family, identity, and seeking your truth. Wholly original and totally incandescent."
— Laurie Elizabeth Flynn, author of Firsts and All Eyes On Her

"The Truth Project is a brave and beautiful debut, shining with honesty, courage, and hope."
— Laura Taylor Namey, author of The Library of Lost Things

A gorgeous, compelling, compulsively readable exploration of family and the truths that define us. I devoured The Truth Project, and I think you will, too.
— Jared Reck, author of A Short History of the Girl Next Door

“A captivating, intricately woven story of identity, family, and how we're shaped by our surroundings. From small-town Alaska to gritty Seattle, Cordelia’s search for belonging brims with honesty and heartache. Each lovely word of this novel-in-verse wields a special kind of power.”
— Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of Today Tonight Tomorrow

"Gripping. The Truth Project is a fast-paced hybrid novel that blends verse together with texts and emails to paint a picture of a girl trying to figure out who she really is. A great pick for Juleah del Rosario and Sonya Sones fans."
— Kip Wilson, author of White Rose

"Poetic elements are well done. A story about family and identity that will appeal to readers who like novels in verse, or books about artistic teens."
— School Library Journal

"Delia tells her story through passionate poems, texts, and emails, making for an effective exploration of identity, secrets, and what family means."
Publishers Weekly

"A solid debut novel about truth and personal identity."
Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062954404
ISBN-10: 0062954407
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: October 13th, 2020
Pages: 400
Language: English