Chunky Goes to Camp (Paperback)

Chunky Goes to Camp Cover Image
By Yehudi Mercado, Yehudi Mercado (Illustrator)
$12.99
On Our Shelves Now
Brilliant Books
2 on hand, as of Jul 3 10:04am

Description


In Yehudi Mercado’s full-color middle grade graphic memoir sequel to Chunky, Hudi and his imaginary friend, Chunky, head to Jewish summer camp, where the dynamic duo meet a new friend who can see Chunky, too, and get mixed up in a prank war. This series is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jerry Craft. 

Hudi finally embraced his love of art and comedy, but his class clown antics keep getting him in trouble. After Hudi’s artwork lands him in detention again, his parents decide a change is needed when summer arrives, and they sentence him to four weeks at summer camp.

Hudi is hesitant about Camp Green—a Jewish sleepaway camp in the blazing Texas desert. At least he still has Chunky. Then Hudi meets Pepe, a fellow camper who’s also Latinx, Jewish, and a comedian like Hudi, and who—get this—can also see Chunky! What?! The rest of Hudi’s bunkmates are also a motley crew of misfits. Has Hudi finally found his people?

This new friendship with Pepe leads Hudi and Chunky into all kinds of hijinks, including a prank war with a few rival campers: the rich, preppy trio of Joshes. Hudi soon realizes that Pepe is driven by more than just making people laugh and he’s not telling Hudi the truth. As the pranks escalate further than Hudi wants, he’s at risk of getting labeled a troublemaker again—can Chunky help Hudi save this new friendship? Or will it flame out?

About the Author


Yehudi Mercado is a former pizza delivery driver and art director for Disney Interactive. He is currently a writer-artist-animator living in Los Angeles. His books include Sci-Fu, Hero Hotel, Rocket Salvage, and Fun Fun Fun World. He is currently show running the Hero Hotel podcast and writing and directing an original animated short for Nickelodeon. You can find him at www.supermercado.pizza.



Yehudi Mercado is a former pizza delivery driver and art director for Disney Interactive. He is currently a writer-artist-animator living in Los Angeles. His books include Sci-Fu, Hero Hotel, Rocket Salvage, and Fun Fun Fun World. He is currently show running the Hero Hotel podcast and writing and directing an original animated short for Nickelodeon. You can find him at www.supermercado.pizza.

Praise For…


Praise for Chunky: "Relatable insights into the life of a child who is eager to fit in but also coming into his sense of self, sometimes with the help of adults and sometimes in spite of them. A compelling coming-of-age memoir." — School Library Journal (starred review)

"Hudi’s a master at deflecting his shaky self-esteem with zingy one-liners. The digital artwork and sports scenarios play for laughs. Mercado notes in closing remarks, “Being ‘Chunky’ isn’t about being fat. Being Chunky is about feeling like you don’t fit in.” And that’s a theme plenty of middle graders can relate to." — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"As good-natured a romp as its highly appealing main character. The art evokes a light tone with simple, effective characteristics. A swift, funny tale." — Booklist

"This sequel deepens the emotional investment from [of] the previous installment considerably and effectively, honoring a sense of caring and connection but never losing sight of its humor. Visually exaggerated emotions and expressions, not to mention the ever-so-huggable character design, highlight that humor with a flourish." — Booklist



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062972811
ISBN-10: 0062972812
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: June 14th, 2022
Pages: 208
Language: English