Visitations (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Visitations By Corey Egbert, Corey Egbert (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Corey Egbert, Corey Egbert (Illustrator)
$17.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Inspired by true events, this haunting yet hopeful young adult graphic novel weaves together family dynamics, mental illness, and religion—perfect for fans of Hey, Kiddo.

Corey’s mom has always made him feel safe. Especially after his parents’ divorce, and the dreaded visitations with his dad begin. But as Corey grows older, he can’t ignore his mother’s increasingly wild accusations. Her insistence that God has appointed Corey as his sister’s protector. Her declaration that Corey’s father is the devil.

Soon, she whisks Corey and his sister away from their home and into the boiling Nevada desert. There, they struggle to survive with little food and the police on the trail. Meanwhile, under the night sky, Corey is visited by a flickering ghost, a girl who urges him to fight for a different world—one outside of his mother’s spoon-fed tales, one Corey must find before it’s too late.

Drawing inspiration from his own upbringing in the Mormon church, Corey Egbert welcomes readers on an emotionally stirring, nuanced journey into the liminal spaces between imagination and memory, faith and truth.

About the Author


Corey Egbert is an illustrator based in Virginia. He believes in creating imaginative and hopeful art that empowers young people to make their world better. He lives with his wife, son, and three cats in a little house by the woods.

Corey Egbert is an illustrator based in Virginia. He believes in creating imaginative and hopeful art that empowers young people to make their world better. He lives with his wife, son, and three cats in a little house by the woods.

Praise For…


"Visitations is a skillfully drawn and heartfelt reminder that stories are every bit as complicated as the people who tell them." —Ethan M. Aldridge, New York Times-bestselling creator of Estranged


Product Details
ISBN: 9780374308391
ISBN-10: 037430839X
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Publication Date: November 19th, 2024
Pages: 336
Language: English