You're in Good Paws (Hardcover)

You're in Good Paws Cover Image
By Maureen Fergus, Kathryn Durst (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Brilliant Books Traverse City
3 on hand, as of Sep 20 9:31am

Description


When Leo arrives at the hospital, he is surprised to find it run by animals! A hilarious story featuring animals in human situations, perfect for fans of Zootopia and A Sick Day for Amos McGee.

Slightly distracted parents accidentally take their son, Leo, to the animal hospital to get his tonsils out.

Luckily, taking care of a human doesn't ruffle any feathers among the hospital staff. The chicken at the admissions desk is welcoming, the bear orderly is friendly and wise Dr. Stan inspires tremendous confidence despite being a mouse. Is the plastic cone really necessary, though?

In this sweet and hilarious story, a child discovers that a trip to the hospital can be a positive experience--even when the hospital isn't quite up to code . . .

About the Author


Maureen is an award winning author of books for kids of all ages. Her books have been translated into a dozen languages, optioned for film and adapted for stage. Her picture books include Invisibill and The Day Santa Stopped Believing in Harold; her novels include The Gypsy King trilogy. When not writing, Maureen runs, reads, bikes, bakes, works and hangs out with her husband, three kids and Buddy the Wonder Dog.

KATHRYN DURST is a graduate of Sheridan College in Ontario, Canada. With a background in animation, she has interned with Pixar Animation Studios in addition to working with various children's book publishers. When she is not illustrating books like Merry Christmas, Mary Christmas and Vlad the World's Worst Vampire, she may be found playing the accordion, growing vegetables, folk dancing, or putting on shadow puppet shows. She lives in Toronto, Canada with her grumpy mini dachshund named Chili Dog.

Praise For…


“For a child about to enter hospital for the first time, the contents of You’re in Good Paws actually provide a good overview of the various stages of care the child will encounter, from admission, through the various pre-op and post-op procedures, to being officially discharged." --CM Magazine

“With each read there is something new to find in the pictures, and the wry text makes it just as much fun for adults to read as it is for kids. Perfect for any kid worried about a trip to the doctor—or the vet.”--Kirkus Reviews
Product Details
ISBN: 9780735264663
ISBN-10: 073526466X
Publisher: Tundra Books
Publication Date: September 10th, 2019
Pages: 40