Snowfly (Paperback)

Snowfly Cover Image
$26.95
Available to ship immediately

Description


One legendary insect--enormous, white, and exceedingly rare--attracts trout of such size that they couldn't possibly exist in the world as we know it. But in Heywood's classic novel, such things can and do exist. Protagonist Bowie Rhodes, UPI reporter and expert fly fisherman, had learned of the snowfly early in his childhood. It hatches every seven to ten years, never on the same river twice, bringing to rise trout so huge they would have to have lived forty years or more; trout so wily that they never allow themselves to be caught--or even seen; trout so hungry for this fly that they will risk exposure to rise for the hatch. The snowfly is the sacred quest of the most obsessed trout hunters, existing--it seems--only in myth and in a lost manuscript. Rhodes's reporting brings him to such sites as the jungles of Vietnam, the labyrinth of Brezhnev's Soviet Union, and a poisoned Canadian wasteland of uranium mines. His hunt for the manuscript, meanwhile, takes him deep into his own heart of darkness. Richly imaginative and sensual, the world of The Snowfly has more mystery lurking beneath the surface waters than our own. Or does it?

About the Author


Joseph Heywood is the author of Covered Waters (Lyons), The Berkut, Taxi Dancer, The Domino Conspiracy, the eight novels comprising the Woods Cop Mystery series, and Red Jacket (A Lute Bapcat Mystery). Featuring Grady Service, a detective in the Upper Peninsula for Michigan's Department of Natural Resources, the Woods Cop Mysteries have earned its author cult status among lovers of the outdoors, law enforcement officials, and mystery devotees. Heywood lives in Portage, Michigan. Visit the author's web site at www.josephheywood.com.

Praise For…


"A truly wonderful, wild, funny and slightly crazy novel about fly fishing. The Snowfly ranks with the best this modern era has produced." --San Francisco Chronicle

"A magical whirlwind of a novel, squarely in the tradition of Tim O'Brien's Going After Cacciato and Jim Harrison's Legends of the Fall." --Howard Frank Mosher, author of The Fall of the Year and others

"The Snowfly is as much about fishing as Moby Dick is about whaling.” --Library Journal

"Fly-fishing legend meets global adventure in Heywood's sparkling, ambitious novel. . . . an engrossing bildungsroman. . . . part Tom Robbins, part David Copperfield." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"If The Snowfly becomes a movie, it will blast A River Runs Through It out of the water." --Fly Angler's Online Book Review

"...a finely tuned plot and masterful, literary craftsmanship. It will stand with The River Why as the finest of its kind." --Riverwatch

Product Details
ISBN: 9780762786954
ISBN-10: 0762786957
Publisher: Lyons Press
Publication Date: May 7th, 2013
Pages: 551
Language: English