The Narrator (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Narrator By Michael Cisco, Jeff VanderMeer (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Michael Cisco, Jeff VanderMeer (Introduction by)
$29.89
Not Currently In-Store; May require 2-3 days before shipping

Staff Reviews


There is no living writer like Michael Cisco. Encountering his writing for the first time was both exhilarating and shocking. "You're allowed to write like this?" I thought. Each of his books are their own little manic, alien universe, but this one is probably my favorite. Also his most accessible, though take that with a grain of salt. The Narrator is an incredibly bizarre, phantasmagorical "fantasy" about a reluctant student who is drafted into a war with "the blackbirds." It's a novel about the absurdity of war, clothed in the language of absurdism. Fans of Kafka and Ligotti will be enthralled.  —Stefen

— From Staff Favorites List

Description


"Michael Cisco is of a different kind and league from almost anyone writing today, and The Narrator is Cisco at his startling best." -CHINA MIEVILLE, author of Perdido Street Station

"An extraordinary story of war and the supernatural that combines the creepiness of Alien with the clear-eyed gaze of Full Metal Jacket. Like The Other Side if it included soldiers who could glide over the water, a mysterious tower right out of early David Lynch, and infused with Kafka's sense of the bizarre. Destined to be a classic." -JEFF VANDERMEER, author of the Southern Reach trilogy

"The Narrator is not a subversive fantasy novel. It eliminates all other fantasy novels and starts the genre anew. You must begin your journey here." -NICK MAMATAS, author of Move Under Ground and Love is the Law


Product Details
ISBN: 9781621051855
ISBN-10: 1621051854
Publisher: Lazy Fascist Press
Publication Date: May 1st, 2015
Pages: 456
Language: English