Bookish News

Coming Together

Thursday, June 23, 2021

Five friends smiling and making a toast. Links to Brilliant Books' article "Coming Together"With the lifting of mask mandates and the growing number of vaccinations, more and more people are delving back into the world of social interaction.  In celeberation of togetherness, we've put together this collection of books.  Check it out for stories, recipes, and more!

See The List

Meet Leo

Tuesday, June 22, 2021



A new face at Brilliant Books, Leo Bevington is our web editor & marketing assistant. You'll occasionally see them in store, but more often Leo is holed up in the back office or at home, working with Caitlin to create and manage web content, email campaigns, and more. We're excited to welcome Leo to the Brilliant Books team!

Meet Leo



Parking Plans

Tuesday, June 22nd, 2021

No parking sign on a street


If you're planning on joining us downtown this week, you might want to consider your parking arrangements ahead of time.  The meters on Front Street are being converted to Smart Meters, which will affect parking along our street both today and tomorrow.  Tuesday will see the north side meters being changed over, while Wednesday will close parking on the south side.

Learn More



Friday, June 18th, 2021

Book cover: Juneteenth for Mazie by Floyd Cooper



Yesterday, Juneteenth was officially established as a national holiday!  But what does Juneteenth celebrate, and why is it important?  Check out this article for a quick history, and for a list of recommened books about Juneteent and Black American history.

See Them All

Change of Plans

Friday, June 18th, 2021

Red text stamp.  Text reads "update"


Earlier this week, we announced our plan to continue requiring masks through July 12th (until the National Cherry Festival had concluded) before relaxing our restrictions.  However, yesterday's news that Michigan will lift all COVID-19 restrictions next week means that we've had to change our plans up a bit.

Learn More