Bookish News

2017 Newbery Medal

Monday, January 23, 2017


The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

See the Honorees


Richard Adams (1920-2016)

Watership Down at Brilliant BooksWednesday, December 28th, 2016

Richard Adams, author of Watership Down and other novels, has died.

Watership Down, Adams' first and most famous novel, began as a story to his daughters: "Once there were two rabbits called Hazel and Fiver."  From there, the story went on to become an international sensation, winning several awards and securing a place on the bookshelves of young readers for generations to come.

Read More


Carrie Fisher (1956-2016)

Wednesday, December 28th, 2016The Princess Diarist at Brilliant Books

Actress and writer Carrie Fisher, best known for her role as Princess Leia Organa in the Star Wars film franchise, has passed away at the age of 60. 

Though her onscreen work made her famous, Fisher was also an award-winning author whose works included novels and memoirs as well as screenplays and a one-woman stage comedy.

Read More



Thanks, Emily!

Wednesday, November 2nd, 2016Emily Mandel; Photo credit: Sarah Shatz.

Emily St. John Mandel has a special relationship with Brilliant Books.  We're huge fans of her award-winning novel Station Eleven, of course, but we actually met Emily much earlier in her career and have been delighted to share her work with readers as she continues to gain recognition. 

Now she's done the same for us in a very big way by introducing the readers of FiveThirtyEight to Brilliant Books Her latest article directs readers to our website, giving people across the country the chance to find the books she mentions at their Long Distance Local Bookstore.


Natalie Babbitt (1932-2016)

Tuesday, November 1st, 2016

Natalie Babbitt, author of Tuck Everlasting, has died at the age of 84.

Nominated for the 1982 Hans Christian Anderson Award and earning the E. B. White Award in 2012, Natalie Babbitt was a beloved children's book author best known for Tuck Everlasting. The novel was published in 1975 and has since been loved by millions of children of all ages.

Babbitt died of lung cancer on October 31st and will be remembered and admired for her dedication to excellence in children's literature.