Prizes and Awards

2023 Ursula K. Le Guin Prize

Thursday, October 26, 2023.

Ursula K. Le Guin

Ursula K. Le Guin was a beloved American novelist best known for her speculative fiction & science fiction, including the Earthsea Cycle and The Left Hand of Darkness.  This year, the second ever Ursula K. Le Guin Prize for Fiction was being awarded!  See the winner and explore the other books in the running.

Browse the List

2023 Hugo Awards

Tuesday,  October 24th, 2023.

Book coversThe Hugo Awards, presented annually since 1955, are science fiction’s most prestigious award. The awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention (“Worldcon”), which is also responsible for administering them.  Explore this year's winners!

The 2023 Hugo Awards

2023 Kirkus Prizes

Thursday, October 12, 2023.

Kirkus Prize shortlistKirkus is known for well crafted (and well trusted) book reviews.  But did you know they also bestow literary awards?

Established in 2014, the Kirkus Prizes recognize excellence in fiction, nonfiction, and children's literature.  Explore the winners & finalists for this year's prizes!

See Them All

Thank You, James Patterson!

Tuesday, October 10th, 2023

For the past few years, bestselling author James Patterson has recognized the hard work and dedication of hundreds of booksellers at independent bookstores across the country with his Holiday Bonus program.

Throughout its tenure, the program has distributed millions of dollars to thousands of deserving booksellers, including four right here at Brilliant Books!

Read More


2023 Nobel Laureate: Jon Fosse

Thursday, October 5th, 2023Jon Fosse

Norwegian writer Jon Fosse, known primarily as a playwright, has been awarded the 2023 Nobel Prize for Literature.  The second most performed Norwegian playwright (after Henrik Ibsen), Fosse's work was described as "innovative" by the Swedish Academy, which administers the Nobel Prizes.   "[His] plays and prose...give voice to the unsayable," the Academy noted in their announcement of the honor.

Learn More


2023 Dagger Awards

Friday, July 7th, 2023.

Crime Writers Association logo

The Dagger Award winners have been announced!

Organized by the UK's Crime Writers Association, the Dagger Awards recognize excellence in crime writing.  Entries are predominantly submitted by publishers and judged by industry professionals.

See the Winners