2016 Man Booker International Prize

Pink book logo with the text: The Man Booker International Prize

Prior to 2016, the Man Booker Prize was open only to UK authors, but the addition of the Man Booker International Prize now helps highlight the works of superb authors and translators from around the world.  The Man Booker International Prize is awarded annually for a single book, translated into English and published in the UK.  The £50,000 prize, awarded in June, is divided equally between the winning author and the English translator.


2016 Winner:

Book cover: The Vegetarian by Han Kang.

The Vegetarian by Han Kang



Book cover: A Whole Life by Robert Seethaler Book cover: The Four Books by Yan Lianke Book cover: A General Theory of Oblivion by Jose Eduardo Agualusa Book cover: A Strangeness in my Mind by Orphan Pamuk Book cover: The Story of the Lost Child by Elena Ferrante



Book cover: Tram 83 by Fiston Mwanza Mujila Book cover: Death by Water by Kenzaburo Oe Book cover: Ladivine by Marie NDiaye Book cover: A Cup of Rage by Raduan Nassar Book cover: Man Tiger by Eka Kurniawan

Also longlisted:

Mend the Living by Maylis de Kerangal

White Hunger by Aki Ollikainen


<< Booker Prize homepage