2016 National Book Awards

Established in 1950, the National Book Award is an American literary prize administered by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit organization.  Awards are given for young people's literature, translation, poetry, nonfiction, and fiction.  For more information on the National Book Awards and a list of this year’s judges, visit www.nationalbook.org.

Check out the winners below!


Fiction Winner:

Book cover: The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

Nonfiction Winner:

Book cover: Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America by Ibram X. Kendi


Poetry Winner:

Book cover: The Performance of Becoming Human by Daniel Borzutzky

Young People's Literature:

Book cover: March Book 3 by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin, illustrated by Nate Powell

Want to see more? 

View the 2016 shortlists               View the 2016 longlists


<< National Book Awards homepage