The Prettiest Picture Books of Them All!

 

There's never been a better time to be a picture book reader!

Whether you're an elementary school teacher, have little ones of your own, or simply someone who loves browsing the children's section, you've likely noticed that lately, the art being created for young readers is utterly breathtaking.

From the dreamy landscapes created by the Fan Brothers to the quirky, bold style of Sandra Dieckmann and beyond, today's picture books are unique, expressive, and so beautiful that one might (almost) be tempted to tear out pages to plaster on their walls.

Below we've compiled a list of some of our favorite books on our shelves with illustrations just as beautiful as the stories they tell.

 

*To see each cover in more detail, just click on the book to navigate to the product page, and then again on the image!


 

The Scarecrow Cover Image
By Beth Ferry, The Fan Brothers (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062475763
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - September 3rd, 2019

This tender and affectionate story reminds us of the comforting power of friendship and the joy of helping others—a tale that will inspire and delight children for generations to come.


The Hundred-Year Barn Cover Image
By Patricia MacLachlan, Kenard Pak (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062687739
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 17th, 2019

In this joyful celebration generations of family and their tender connection to the barn, Newbery Medal–winning author Patricia MacLachlan and award-winning artist Kenard Pak spin a tender and timeless story about the simple moments that make up a lifetime.

This beautiful picture book is perfect for young children who are curious about history and farm life.


The Immortal Jellyfish Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781911171799
Availability: Available to ship immediately (not yet in store)
Published: Flying Eye Books - August 20th, 2019

Where do we go when we die? Use this vibrantly illustrated story to guide your kids through the grieving process, with the help of a jellyfish that eternally regenerates and a young boy missing his grandfather.
 


Sweep Cover Image
By Louise Greig, Júlia Sardà (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534439085
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 3rd, 2019

Ed’s bad mood begins as something really small, hardly a thing at all. But before long it grows, gathers pace, and spreads through the whole town.

Can Ed sweep his troubles away?


Leaf Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781911171317
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flying Eye Books - October 3rd, 2017

When a polar bear arrives unexpectedly in the woods, the animals fear and avoid him, suspecting him to be dangerous - and his habit of collecting leaves only adds to their distrust. Then one day, they watch as he attempts to fly over the water with wings made of colorful leaves...just trying to go home.

Maybe he needs some help?


The Balcony Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534405882
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - September 24th, 2019

From internationally acclaimed illustrator Melissa Castrillon comes a magical story of how a girl’s garden in her new home changes her life and the lives of people all around her.
 


Hawks Kettle, Puffins Wheel: And Other Poems of Birds in Flight Cover Image
By Susan Vande Griek, Mark Hoffmann (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781771389952
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kids Can Press - September 3rd, 2019

This lyrical celebration of birds explores the fascinating ways these creatures move through the air. For each of twelve birds from around the world, a captivating poem describes the animal's distinctive movement and the special word associated with that movement, from geese who skein and puffins who wheel, to crows who mob and starlings who murmurate.


Alma and the Beast Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735263963
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tundra Books - September 3rd, 2019

Alma's beautiful, hairy world is turned upside down by the arrival of a stranger. From the utterly original imagination of the author-illustrator of Ooko comes a story about celebrating differences and making new friends. For fans of Where the Wild Things Are.
 


Stormy: A Story About Finding a Forever Home Cover Image
By Guojing
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524771768
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Schwartz & Wade - September 17th, 2019

From the creator of the New York Times best-illustrated children's book award winner The Only Child, comes a gorgeous and moving wordless picture book that's perfect for dog lovers.


King Mouse Cover Image
By Cary Fagan, Dena Seiferling (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735264045
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tundra Books - September 24th, 2019

King Mouse finds his authority in question when his subjects find crowns of their own. A gentle and humorous modern fable about imaginative play and kindness in the tradition of classics like Little Bear and Frog and Toad.


The Seekers Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781524701529
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - August 6th, 2019

A small band of brave adventurers journey to save their village in this stunning debut picture book from papercut artists Hari & Deepti. Perfect for fans of Aaron Becker's Journey.


Pokko and the Drum Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481480390
Availability: Available to ship immediately (not yet in store)
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - October 1st, 2019

From E.B. White Read Aloud honor artist Matthew Forsythe comes a picture book about a magical drum, an emerald forest, and the little frog who dares to make her own music.


The Shortest Day Cover Image
By Susan Cooper, Carson Ellis (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780763686987
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - October 22nd, 2019

In this seasonal treasure, Newbery Medalist Susan Cooper’s beloved poem heralds the winter solstice, illuminated by Caldecott Honoree Carson Ellis’s strikingly resonant illustrations.


See More: